Baseball

#50 Cole Hamels trade

I will finally get to the Cole Hamels trade almost a week later. I talked about Jon Gray yesterday, I was a little off on my prediction but I was right about his stuff. Anyone who watched that game saw the potential of a frontline starter. Because of my rant about the Cubs yesterday I didn’t even mention Henry Owens’ debut, another top pitching prospect to make his debut last. A nice left handed pitcher for the Red Sox who coincidentally I would say he has the potential of a Cole Hamels. Now tonight there is another pitching prospect making his major league debut. Luis Serverino will be starting tonight for the Yankees, supposedly he’s a pretty high ranked prospect. I say supposedly because I really don’t like him as much as others do. He has good stuff don’t get me wrong but I don’t see a high potential for him, I saw him in spring training and I saw a funky delivery which should be hard to repeat. Plus he’s pitching in Yankee stadium which is pretty much a little league ball park not exactly a pitchers favorite place.

I think the Phillies got a really good package back for Cole Hamels, I’d give it an A. The Phillies sent Cole Hamels and Jake Diekman to the Texas Rangers for major league pitcher Matt Harrison and prospects Jorge Alfaro, Nick Williams, Jake Thompson, Alec Asher, and Jerad Eickhoff. 3 of those prospects are top 100 prospects, Jake Thompson (60), Nick Williams (64), Jorge Alfaro (69). And that’s a great pull for a team in a rebuilding mode. These prospects are good and young and will probably produce at the major league level. Adding these prospects brightened up Philadelphia’s future quite a bit. Jorge Alfaro will be ready soon and will replace Carlos Ruiz at some point, Nick Williams will be a good corner outfielder, and Jake Thompson will be a nice arm in the rotation. If I were a Phillies fan I’d be happy about trading Cole Hamels and be excited for the future.

Standard

Leave a Reply

