Baseball

#37 home run derby

So it’s funny, yesterday I was talking about how I don’t think Kris Bryant is an all star then I find out he’ll be in the home run derby. I didn’t know 12 homers can get you into the derby. I thought it was for the top home run guys of the first half. Apparently that’s not the case anymore. I personally don’t even think Bryant really deserves the all star selection. But hey the fans want to see him it’s not like it determines anything. Wait a minute, it does.

Now back to the home run derby, they announced all 8 contestants last night. For the AL it’s the Angels Albert Pujols, the Orioles Manny Machado, the Blue Jays Josh Donaldson, and the Rangers Prince Fielder. For the NL it’s the Reds Todd Frazier, the Dodgers rookie Joc Pederson, and two Cubs Kris Bryant and Anthony Rizzo. They also changed the rules of it this year I don’t even understand the new rules. From what I understand it’s now timed rounds and it’s however many homers you hit during the time period, it doesn’t even matter how many “outs” you make. I could be wrong but I think those are the new rules. It’s in Cincinnati so there will definitely be plenty of homers this year. Historically line drive hitters, like most of them, don’t do too hot. It’s usually the guys who can pull the ball that do good. I don’t like Machado being in it, he’s a young guy who’s been injured a lot finally healthy and hitting great. He’s deserving of course but he’s healthy don’t want to do anything to jeopardize that. Plus he’s a line drive hitter it could easily mess up his swing. Although I don’t think he should be there but based on his swing I think Bryant could do well in the derby. He’s tall and has great leverage in his swing, nice uppercut, plus he can pull the ball. But if I had to bet on this (which I totally would if I could) my money is on the 2-time winner Prince Fielder.

Standard

One thought on “#37 home run derby

  1. Pingback: Discover: Weekend Warriors « MLB.com Blogs

Leave a Reply

