Uncategorized

#9 LA Dodgers/Yasiel Puig

Yesterday I talked about the Angels so today might as well talk about the other LA team. The Dodgers have some good prospects I could talk about. Corey Seager, the next Cal Ripken, or I could talk about Julio Urias, the 18 year old pitcher in AA already, or even Joc Pederson, the young center fielder with a power-speed combo. But I don’t really want to talk about them just yet I want to write about Yasiel Puig I don’t like him much so if you’re a Dodger fan you might not like me too much. But before I get into Puig I’ll talk about how the Dodgers are doing so far this year. 46 games in and they’re cruising at 28-18 which is good enough to be in first place for now. The Giants are actually only 1 game back and I don’t think the Dodgers are as good as last year. They lost Hanley Ramirez, Dee Gordon, and Matt Kemp that offense isn’t exactly easy to replace. Kershaw is pitching like just an average pitcher so far this year and Ryu is out for the year with a shoulder injury. I wouldn’t throw up the white flag or anything yet but I don’t think they’re as good as last season.

Now time for me to rant a little about Puig. If you remember when he first came up he was all rage “he’s on a hall of fame pace” he’s amazing” and I thought it was very stupid. Now everybody sees what I saw back then, a .280-.300 hitter with average power and average speed. The bad base running and bad fielding doesn’t really help his cause. Got a cannon for an arm of course but he takes pretty bad routes in the outfield. That can be learned though same with his base running, I can’t even count the number of times I turned on the Dodgers game to see him getting thrown out trying to stretch a single into a double or going first to third or simply getting picked off. Let’s not forget his complete disrespect on the field waging his finger at the runner after he throws him out or the bat flip when it’s just a double off the wall. Show a little respect for the game, I couldn’t care less about how he acts off the field but show the game the respect it deserves on the field. That’s the main problem I have with Puig I don’t like how he acts on the field. His tools can play but I’m not ok with acting like a little leaguer or something I mean come on you’re in the majors these players work as hard and harder to get where you are. I would still take him on my team, everything I complained about is teachable. He’s not a horrible player it’s just his attitude needs some adjustments.

Standard

Leave a Reply

